Students Recognized by National Merit Scholarship Program

Gray Stone Students Recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Program
Posted on 10/30/2017
Rokoses and Kruger recognized by National Merit Program

Founder and Chief Administrative Officer, Helen Nance, of Gray Stone Day School is proud to announce that three Students have been honored in the National Merit Scholarship Program. Senior, Casey Kruger has been named a Commended Scholar. He is one of about 34,000 Commended students across the nation being recognized for exceptional academic promise. Commended Scholars placed in the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million. Casey is the son of Myra and Lou Kruger of New London. He has been leader on the Gray Stone Day School baseball team, Mock Trial team, and a peer mentor among other activities.  

Seniors, Nick Rokos and Connor Rokos have been named Semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program. The top 16,000 scorers are named Semifinalists and will continue on in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. Semifinalists must advance to the Finalist level of the competition by meeting additional standards and fulfilling several requirements. These include having a record of very high academic performance in college preparatory course work, submitting SAT scores that confirm the PSAT/NMSQT performance, and being fully endorsed and recommended by a high school official. Each Semifinalist writes an essay and gives information about activities/volunteer service and much more.  

Nick and Conner are the sons of Dr. Laura Mauldin and Dr. James Rokos of Norwood. Conner and Nick have been peer mentors, leaders on the cross country and track teams. Nick participated in a National Outdoor Leadership Excursion and Conner attended Governor’s School for Social Science.  

15,000 of the Semifinalists are expected to become Finalists in the 2018 competition. About 7,500 scholarships will be offered in 2018. We hope you will join the Gray Stone Day School community in wishing Nick Rokos and Connor Rokos the best as they continue through the National Merit Scholarship Competition.